Specialist Accreditation

Your calling card

Singapore Academy of Law's 
Specialist Accreditation Scheme

Latest Updates

Senior Accredited Specialists and Accredited Specialists in Maritime and Shipping Law

10 January 2022 — The Specialist Accreditation Scheme is pleased to introduce the latest group of specialists in Maritime and Shipping Law. They participated in the accreditation programme throughout 2021 and, after a rigorous assessment process, are now part of a distinguished and select group of experts in their field. Congratulations go to:

Senior Accredited Specialists

Chong Ik Wei, Partner, Clyde & Co Clasis Singapore
Joseph Tan Wee Kong, Managing Director, JLex LLC
Lawrence Teh Kee Wee, Senior Partner, Denton Rodyk & Davidson LLP

Accredited Specialists

Ho Pey Yann, Senior Associate, Allen & Gledhill LLP
Nathanael Lin, Partner, Rajah & Tann Singapore LLP
Prakaash s/o Paniar Silvam, Partner, Oon & Bazul LLP

The directory of specialists in Maritime and Shipping Law now stands at 30 Seniors Accredited Specialists and 11 Accredited Specialists.

Accredited Specialists in Building and Construction Law

10 January 2022 — Applications to be accredited as an Accredited Specialist in Building and Construction Law for legal practitioners who have at least 5 years' PQE are now open. Please be familiar with the

  • Information Guide for Applicants - General AND
  • Information Guide for Applicants - Building and Construction Law

which can be found here.

Applications close on 31 March 2022.

Senior Accredited Specialists in Building and Construction Law contribute to The Business Times

07 October 2021 — Following their appearance in the SAL webinar on what the construction industry can expect once temporary relief under COTMA ends back in May 2021, Kelvin Aw (CMS Holborn) and Sim Chee Siong (Rajah & Tann) contributed an opinion piece in The Business Times "Covid's lessons for the construction industry".

Business Times 7 October 2021


The Singapore Academy of Law's Specialist Accreditation Scheme (the "Scheme") confers recognition of a legal practitioner's expertise and experience in a specialised area of law. It is an assessment process which requires a legal practitioner to show evidence of his or her knowledge and expertise in their chosen area of specialisation. Specialist accreditation is a voluntary and an individual endeavour.

The Scheme's purpose is to:

  • recognise the high level of proficiency of legal practitioners in their chosen practice area and promote continued personal professional development and improvement
  • incentivise younger legal practitioners to hone their skills and knowledge
  • provide the legal industry and general public with a reliable means of identifying and accessing legal practitioners who have proven themselves as possessing the requisite skills and knowledge in a practice area
  • promote continued development and improve the standard, quality and delivery of legal services

The Scheme aims to build an exhaustive directory of Accredited Specialists and Senior Accredited Specialists for the benefit of users of legal services.

To gain a better understanding of the Scheme’s framework, the papers for the respective practice areas can be found here:

Legal practitioners interested in being accredited may apply to be:

  • An Accredited Specialist (for legal practitioners with more than 5 year's PQE) OR
  • A Senior Accredited Specialist (for legal practitioners with more than 10 year's PQE)

For 2022, specialist accreditation is offered for the following practice area:

  • Building and Construction Law
  • Data and Digital Economy Law