Skip to main content
News Releases
Former CJ Yong Pung How elected Honorary Member & Fellow for Life

Singapore, 6 January, 2007 – The Singapore Academy of Law (SAL) is pleased to announce that The Senate of SAL has elected Mr Yong Pung How, retired Chief Justice of Singapore and former President of the Academy, as Honorary Member and Fellow for Life.

The title Honorary Member and Fellow of Life is given to distinguished members in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the legal and judicial system, and to the stature of the legal profession in Singapore.  Over the years, the Senate of the Academy has appointed three other persons as Honorary Member and Fellows for Life: Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew (in 1990), the late Dr Wee Chong Jin (in 1991) and the late Dr David Marshall (in 1991).

Mr Yong was appointed to the Supreme Court Bench as a Judge in 1989 and was appointed Chief Justice in 1990, an office which he served with distinction for 16 years. During his tenure as Chief Justice, Mr Yong was also President of the Singapore Academy of Law.

Under his leadership, the services of the Academy grew in depth and variety.  He introduced our own Singapore Law Reports and the Senior Counsel scheme.  The Academy is now Singapore’s official law reporting agency responsible for the selection and publication of Singapore case law.

“CJ Yong has left an enviable legacy,” said the Honourable the Chief Justice Chan Sek Keong. “The solid foundation that he has laid for the work of the Academy will stand us in good stead as we prepare to meet new challenges.”

- End -

Note to editor:

For further information on Mr Yong’s achievements please refer to:

1) Citation for the conferment of Honorary Member and Fellow for Life on Mr Yong.  This citation is printed in the Singapore Academy Report 2005/2006
2) Career highlights of Mr Yong Pung How