Prizes & Medals

The Christopher Bathurst Prize

Christopher Bathurst QC (1934-2009) was a member of Fountain Court Chambers and a leading practitioner at the commercial Bar in London who developed a substantial practice in Southeast Asia, particularly Singapore.  He was regarded by many practitioners in Singapore not just as a formidable advocate and adviser but also as a friend and mentor.  His cases include the leading decision of Caparo v Dickman [1990] 2 AC 605 and in the more recent past he developed a substantial Singaporean arbitration practice. As Viscount Bledisloe, Christopher was an elected hereditary peer, and a popular and energetic cross-bench member of the House of Lords.

This Prize seeks to honour his memory.



The contributor of the best entry will win an all-expenses-paid 2-week internship with Fountain Court Chambers in London, which will take place at a time to be mutually agreed between the winner and Fountain Court within a year of the announcement of the winning entry.



Applications for Christopher Bathurst Prize 2019 have closed. Click here to view this year's Rules and Question

For inquiries, please email us at [email protected].

Year Awarded
2019 Mr Darren LOW Jun Jie Winner
2018 Mr TAN Ee Kuan Winner
2017 Mr Kevin ELBERT Winner
  Ms Annia HSU En Chieh 2nd Prize
  Ms Rachel TAN Xi’en 3rd Prize
2016 Mr Aloysius CHANG Jun Siang Winner
  Mr Daniel LEE Wai Yong  2nd Prize
  Mr Devathas SATIANATHAN 3rd Prize
2015 Mr Ivan LIM Jun Rui Winner
  Mr PANG Weng Fong 2nd Prize
2014 Mr Arvindran s/o MANOOSEGARAN Winner
  Mr Kevin ELBERT 2nd Prize
  Mr Nelson GOH Kian Thong 3rd Prize
2013 Mr Kelvin KOW Weijie Winner
  Mr Keith HAN Guangyuan 2nd Prize
  Mr Daniel GAW Wai Ming 3rd Prize
2012 Mr Benson LIM Lim You Yu Winner
  Mr Daryl XU 2nd Prize
  Ms LYE Hui Xian 3rd Prize